FairVote presents Democracy Innovator awards at conference

On December 8, FairVote convened more than 100 democracy advocates, grantmakers and elected officials for a strategic discussion about advancing innovative electoral reforms. Our jam-packed day was full of excellent presentations, discussion and debate. We closed our meeting with the announcement of our inaugural Democracy Innovator awards in recognition of outstanding local, state and national leaders for their effective advocacy of innovative policies to improve our elections. This year's winners are Florida's U.S. Senator Bill Nelson, Maryland state representatives Jamie Raskin and Sheila Hixson and Shelby County (TN) county commissioner Steven Mulroy.

Press release: 2008's Shrinking Battlegrounds
Memphis flyer
FairVote's Innovative Reforms strategy conference
FairVote's coalition-building work
Press Release on Awards