FairVote Celebrates 20 Years

On June 20, 1992, former Cincinnati mayor and longtime proportional representation champion Theodore Berry welcomed reformers from around the country to his city for the founding convention of FairVote.

On June 21st, the first Board was elected, Rob Richie chosen to be director and Matthew Cossolotto to be chair. 1980 presidential candidate John B. Anderson agreed to chair the advisory board and had an oped in the New York Times proposing instant runoff voting. In 2002, we summarized our first decade, and we highlight 2011 progress here.

FairVote will celebrate its 20th anniversary with a series of events and featured reports, starting with an early July report contrasting gerrymandered single-member congressional elections with fair voting plans. Stay tuned!